Local Travel: Best Cheap Adventure

This weekend my friend Caroline came to Seattle to celebrate her birthday weekend (Happy Birthday to You!). Since she loves history, we took several tours (mainly walking) throughout the city where I learned so much about the city I love. I found it almost pathetic that I have been in love with a city for 22 years, lived right next to it my whole life, and yet I knew almost nothing about its history.

So here is my advice: just because you’ve been somewhere a million and one times doesn’t mean you have ever truly experienced it. Especially in times when it’s difficult to spend thousands of dollars on a trip abroad, there’s no better way to experience culture, history and excitement with minimum travel time and low cost.

Image

Image

The first night she was in Seattle was Cinco de Mayo, but that didn’t stop us from reliving our Irish days. We went out for a Irish Pub Crawl throughout downtown Seattle. The best one was Kells Irish Pub (which is also located in Portland, OR), where we felt like we really were back in Ireland. There was even live music with singers who had Irish accents. It made me miss the rolling green hills of Ireland (a recount of my time there is soon to come).

Among some of the other places we went were Fremont Troll, Pioneer Square, Pike Place Market and my personal favorite, Kerry Park.

I love being a tourist in my own city and would highly recommend being a tourist too in the city you love.

*NOTE: I would love to hear about any adventures in your favorite local city as well. If you have a story you would like to share, leave a comment, tweet or email me. Happy touring!

Tagged ,

One thought on “Local Travel: Best Cheap Adventure

  1. katelynmurf says:

    I love Seattle! I can’t wait to visit there again someday.

Leave a Reply

