Kia Ora New Zealand- Day 1 In Wellington

What more can I say other than Wellington is amazing! Despite the nickname Windy Welly, for which I have first-handedly experienced, the city is like San Francisco, if San Fran were cleaner and located in the South Pacific.

imageDay 1 consisted of a bay view walk along the renaissance waterfront, which you can tell is new but well loved. It stretches for miles from the Stadium up into the wine-tasting covered hills. Along the way you can find tidbits of historical explanations, signs welcoming one and all, industrial-bins-turned-shops (which appropriately shows the connection between the original use of the waterfront for import/exporting services to the now tourist and leisure location), water sports, museums and beaches. It is most definitely my favorite spot in Wellington! image

After checking out the waterfront, I meandered into the city. Wellington long and skinny, squeezed between the bay and Mount Victoria so it seems like it would be easy to navigate through. Well, I was wrong. After my relaxing stroll along the quay I found myself getting wildly lost and profoundly happy. There’s nothing I love more than feeling lost in a new, exciting place. It was that was that I was able to gain a reference for the city which helped me navigate throughout the rest of my stay.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Kia Ora New Zealand- Day 1 In Wellington

  1. […] pleased about it. In addition to the Parisian bridge, I have stumbled upon one in San Francisco and Wellington. Turns out they have also started […]

Leave a Reply

